EYFS/Reception Curriculum

All schools follow The EYFS Framework which explains how and what your child will be learning to support their healthy development.

Your child will be learning skills, acquiring new knowledge and demonstrating their understanding through 7 areas of learning and development.

Children should  develop the 3 prime areas first.

These are:

Communication and language
Physical development
Personal, social and emotional development.

At this age these prime areas are those most essential for your child’s healthy development and future learning.

As children grow, the prime areas will help them to develop skills in 4 specific areas.

These are:
Understanding the world
Expressive arts and design

These 7 areas are used to plan your child’s learning and activities. The team teaching and supporting your child will make sure that the activities are suited to your child’s specific needs. The curriculum is suitable for very young children, and it is designed to be really flexible so that staff can follow your child's unique needs and interests.

Children in the EYFS learn by playing and exploring, being active, and through creative and critical thinking which takes place both indoors and outside. At HFS we encourage outdoor learning in all weathers and use the resources we can find in the school grounds to aid learning as well as child specific learning tools such as Montessori equipment and the use of the Read Write inc programme

Find us Find us

Harpenden Academy

Vaughan Rd




01582 716910

Follow us on Twitter: @HarpAcademy1